Sunday, August 21, 2011

TV Patrol is Nominated for 2011 International Emmy Awards

TV Patrol is nominated for the 2011 International Emmy Award for their "Manila Hostage Crisis" coverage.
According to Bruce L. Paisner, the academy's president and CEO, "the 2011 nominees offer unique perspectives from all parts of the world on the events that have shaped the year and touched audiences."
TV Patrol is anchored by Noli De Castro, Korina Sanchez and Ted Failon. The Manila Hostage Crisis occurred last year, August 23, 2010.
Disgruntled former senior inspector Rolando Mendoza of the Manila Police District (MPD) hijacked a tourist bus carrying 25 people (20 tourists and a tour guide from Hong Kong, and four Filipinos) in an attempt to get his job back. Negotiations broke down dramatically about ten hours into the stand-off, when the police arrested Mendoza's brother and thus incited him to open fire. As the shooting began, the bus driver managed to escape, and was shown on television saying "Everyone is dead" before being whisked away by policemen. Mendoza and eight of the hostages were killed and a number of others injured. The MPD's failed rescue attempt and gun-battle with the hijacker, which lasted for around 90 minutes, were seen by millions on live television and the internet.
There are total of 8 nominees for the "News and Current Affairs" category and the winners will be announced on September 28 at the Frederick P. Rose Hall of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.